• Biographical Description

  • Sarah Perske is a composer, classical guitarist, and singer-songwriter whose music reflects her interests in crafting odd and unwieldy forms, exploiting found object sound sources, and combining musical performance with the visual and literary arts. Perske’s works emphasize collaboration with artists in other disciplines, and her music is frequently inspired by images, words, and physical gestures. Perske is extremely active as a composer and champion of new music in the Denver area, and is public relations director of Nebula Ensemble, a Denver-based contemporary music ensemble that specializes in multimedia performances and cross-disciplinary collaborations.

    Perske’s works have been performed by The Playground Ensemble, Nebula Ensemble, classical guitarist Laura Husbands, the Keith/Larson Duo, and virtuoso saw player Caroline McCaskey, among many others. In 2014 Perske won first prize in the Colorado Clarinet Days Composition Competition, and in 2013 Perske was winner of The Playground Anne Culver Commission Prize.

    Perske received a Bachelor of Music degree in guitar performance from the University of Denver’s Lamont School of music in 2012, where she studied guitar with Ricardo Iznaola and Jonathan Leathwood. She has studied composition with Chris Malloy, William Hill, and Leanna Kirchoff, and holds a Master of Music degree in composition from the Lamont School of Music. Perske also enjoys writing about music, and is founder and editor of the new music blog DeformingPrisms

  • The Book of Image and Sound

  • First movement: The Cat Hears Something
    First movement: The Cat Hears Something

    This is a portion of the score of The Book of Image and Sound for solo guitar, recitation and video. This work was the result of a Partners in Scholarship project called "Discovering the Total Artist: The Composer as Performer, Poet, and Painter," which I completed in spring quarter 2010 with Ricardo Iznaola acting as my faculty partner.

    This idea of "illuminating" scores continues to interest me, and I'm currently experimenting with more sophisticated ways of superimposing notation over a painted background - stay tuned!

  • 023.JPG

This portfolio last updated: 24-Oct-2018 12:55 PM