From: Faculty Forum Web Log

AAUP Chapter Established

Published by <u>Dean Saitta</u> April 19th, 2007 in <u>Home</u>, <u>Prez's Pulpit</u> and <u>AAUP at DU</u>. **by Dean Saitta**

On April 13, 2007 eighteen members of the DU faculty met and established a campus chapter of the AAUP. We approved a set of chapter bylaws, and elected the following officers:

President: Dean Saitta, Anthropology.

Vice-President: Scott Leutenegger, Computer Science.

Secretary-Treasurer: Deb Grealy, College of Education.

Executive Committee At-Large Member: Roberto Corrada, College of Law.

Executive Committee At-Large Member: Naomi Reshotko, Philosophy.

The DU administration has been informed of the chapter formation, as has the national AAUP. An official charter is in the mail to us.

At the April 13 meeting we talked about what an AAUP chapter could do for us at DU. Chief among the virtues of having a chapter is the opportunity it provides for a self-selected and committed group of faculty to get together across academic boundaries and discuss issues of common concern. We had a wide-ranging discussion about faculty governance issues at DU, and issues that affect the professorate nationally.

Having an AAUP chapter president who is also Faculty Senate president is not ideal, but the chapter membership doesn't see it as a problem. I'm already connected with state and national AAUP representatives, and this can help the chapter start-up proceed a bit more efficiently. In fact I'll be meeting up with my AAUP peers from other Colorado campuses at the State AAUP Executive Committee meeting in just a couple of days, on April 21. On the agenda are an initiative at CU-Boulder to procure a form of tenure for contingent faculty, and an AAUP proposal for avoiding costly disputes between faculty and administrations. More about this later...