From	Dean Saitta <dsaitta@du.edu></dsaitta@du.edu>	
Sent	Friday, April 20, 2007 11:50 am	
То	<u>du-facultylist@du.edu</u>	
Subject	[Du-facultylist] DU AAUP Chapter Formed	
Attachments	DU-AAUP chapter bylaws.doc	35K

Dear All—

On April 13, 2007 members of the DU faculty established a campus chapter of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP). I've been reporting about this initiative in the *Faculty Forum* weblog. Interested faculty also attended an on-campus meeting with national and state AAUP representatives last February 8. That meeting produced the required number of faculty to start a chapter. Our members are distributed across 9 colleges and divisions. At the April 13 meeting we approved the attached by-laws, talked about why a local chapter would be good for us, and elected the following chapter officers and Executive Committee members:

President: Dean Saitta, Anthropology.

Vice President: Scott Leutenegger, Computer Science. Secretary/Treasurer: Deb Grealy, College of Education. Executive Committee At-Large member: Roberto Corrada, College of Law. Executive Committee At-Large member: Naomi Reshotko, Philosophy.

Infomation about membership in AAUP is on the association's website at <u>http://www.aaup.org/AAUP/involved/join/</u>. I also have membership information that I can send you through campus mail. If you're and AAUP member or potential member and would like to be apprised of chapter meetings and events please let me know and I'll add you to our email list.

All best,

Dean

Dean J. Saitta Professor, Department of Anthropology President, Faculty Senate University of Denver Sturm Hall 146-S 2000 East Asbury Street Denver, CO 80208 Phone: 303-871-2680 Fax: 303-871-2437 Web: http://portfolio.du.edu/dsaitta