From	Dean Saitta <dsaitta@du.edu></dsaitta@du.edu>	
Sent	Dean Saitta <dsaitta@du.edu> Thursday, April 19, 2007 4:17 pm Beto Juarez <beto.juarez@du.edu>, Carol Farnsworth <cfarnswo@du.edu>, Cathy Grieve <cgrieve@du.edu>, Christiar Molidor <cmolidor@du.edu>, Craig Woody <cwoody@du.edu>, Dennis Becker <dbecker@du.edu>, Dick Gartrell <gartrell@du.ed< p=""> Ed Harris <ed.harris@du.edu>, Fernando Guzman <fguzman@du.edu>, George Potts <gpotts@du.edu>, Ginger Maloney <gmaloney@du.edu>, Gregg Kvistad <gkvistad@du.edu< p=""> egge notics <gpotts@du.edu>, Ginger Maloney <gmaloney@du.edu>, Jennifer Karas <jkaras@du.edu< p=""> eggestrevino <jtrevino@du.edu>, Jim Davis <jdavis@du.edu>, Fogleman <fogleman@du.edu>, Jim Moran <jmoran@du.edu>, Fogleman <fogleman@du.edu>, Jim Moran <jmoran@du.edu>, Fogleman <fogleman@du.edu>, Jim Moran <jmoran@du.edu>, Fogleman <fogleman@du.edu>, Unris Sharrow <lsharrow@du.edu< p=""> Linda Kosten <lkosten@du.edu>, Lorni Sharrow <lsharrow@du.edu< p=""> Mada, Ved" <vnanda@law.du.edu>, Patti Helton shthomps@du.edu>, Rahmat Shoureshi <rshoures@du.edu< p=""> Mangaret Henry <menry@du.edu>, Rahmat Shoureshi <rshoures@du.edu< p=""> Anda, Ved" <vnanda@law.du.edu>, Sheila Summers Thomp <shthomps@du.edu>, Susan Lee <susanlee@du.edu>, Universi Counsel <counsel@du.edu>, Angela Duggan <aduggan2@du.edu< p=""> Angela Duggan <aduggan2@du.edu< p=""> Angela Duggan <aduggan2@du.edu< p=""> Angela Duggan <aduggan2@du.edu< p=""> , Catherine.Kennedy@du.edu>, Denise Pappas-Lucero <dpappasl@du.edu>, Donna Kolosky <dkolosky@du.edu>, Jiana Hug <dihughes@du.edu>, Donna Kolosky <dkolosky@du.edu>, Jiana Hug <dihughes@du.edu>, Jeanie Tischle <jisizer <jevilsiz@du.edu="">, Karen Fennell <gfac@du.edu>, Kirsi Norwood <knorwood@du.edu>, Lanie Meilinger <meilinig@du.edu>, Kirsi Norwood <knorwood@du.edu>, Lanie Meilinger <meilinig@du.edu< p=""></meilinig@du.edu<></knorwood@du.edu></meilinig@du.edu></knorwood@du.edu></gfac@du.edu></jisizer></dihughes@du.edu></dkolosky@du.edu></dihughes@du.edu></dkolosky@du.edu></dpappasl@du.edu></aduggan2@du.edu<></aduggan2@du.edu<></aduggan2@du.edu<></aduggan2@du.edu<></counsel@du.edu></susanlee@du.edu></shthomps@du.edu></vnanda@law.du.edu></rshoures@du.edu<></menry@du.edu></rshoures@du.edu<></vnanda@law.du.edu></lsharrow@du.edu<></lkosten@du.edu></lsharrow@du.edu<></fogleman@du.edu></jmoran@du.edu></fogleman@du.edu></jmoran@du.edu></fogleman@du.edu></jmoran@du.edu></fogleman@du.edu></jdavis@du.edu></jtrevino@du.edu></jkaras@du.edu<></gmaloney@du.edu></gpotts@du.edu></gkvistad@du.edu<></gmaloney@du.edu></gpotts@du.edu></fguzman@du.edu></ed.harris@du.edu></gartrell@du.ed<></dbecker@du.edu></cwoody@du.edu></cmolidor@du.edu></cgrieve@du.edu></cfarnswo@du.edu></beto.juarez@du.edu></dsaitta@du.edu>	$\frac{U > 1}{2}, \frac{2}{2}, \frac{1}{2}, \frac{1}{2$
	Laurie Stephenson <laurie.stephenson@du.edu> , Linda Melick</laurie.stephenson@du.edu>	/
	<pre><imelick@du.edu> , Lisa Diedrich <idiedric@du.edu> , Lucille Sandoval <isandova@du.edu> , Maggie Schaeffer</isandova@du.edu></idiedric@du.edu></imelick@du.edu></pre>	
	<pre><mschaef3@du.edu> , Mary Ann Shessler <mshessle@du.edu> ,</mshessle@du.edu></mschaef3@du.edu></pre>	Mary
	<u>Beth Patterson <mpatters@du.edu></mpatters@du.edu></u> , <u>Nita Johnson</u> <njohnson@du.edu> , <u>Tamara Trueblood <ttrueblo@du.edu></ttrueblo@du.edu></u> , <u>Theresa Hernandez <theresa.hernandez@du.edu></theresa.hernandez@du.edu></u> , <u>Tinka Crosby</u> <tcrosby@du.edu> , <u>Tracey Peters <tpeters2@du.edu></tpeters2@du.edu></u> , <u>Tracie K</u> <tkruse@du.edu></tkruse@du.edu></tcrosby@du.edu></njohnson@du.edu>	
Cc	Robert Coombe <rcoombe@du.edu></rcoombe@du.edu>	
	DU AAUP Chapter Formed	
Attachments	DU-AAUP chapter bylaws.doc	35K

Dear All—

On April 13, 2007 members of the DU faculty established a campus chapter of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP). I've been reporting about this

initiative in the *Faculty Forum* weblog in Portfolio Community, which is accessible to everyone who has faculty status. Interested faculty also attended an on-campus meeting with national and state AAUP representatives last February 8. That meeting produced the required number of faculty to start a chapter. We have a couple dozen current or soon-tobe AAUP members in the group, and they are distributed across 9 schools and divisions. At the April 13 meeting we approved the attached by-laws, talked about why a local chapter would be good for us, and elected the following officers and Executive Committee members:

President: Dean Saitta, Anthropology. Vice President: Scott Leutenegger, Computer Science. Secretary/Treasurer: Deb Grealy, College of Education. Executive Committee At-Large member: Roberto Corrada, Law. Executive Committee At-Large member: Naomi Reshotko, Philosophy.

The next step is to inform the Administration of the chapter's establishment, which accounts for this email to all of you. The national AAUP says the following about administrative notice (<u>http://www.aaup.org/AAUP/involved/startchapter/all-about-start.htm</u>):

Once members of the chapter are adequately informed on the aims of the Association and of their own chapter, they or their representatives should inform the administration about the formation of the chapter. In most instances, administrative officers will encourage this development and welcome the professionalism it represents. Some administrators may wish to know more about the Association from the local representatives, or may express interest in receiving copies of Association publications. In any case, members of the group should explain the professional nature of the organization and impress upon the administration that the chapter supports efforts to advance the standards of the institution.

The AAUP's website contains more information. I'd be happy to say more about the chapter at the Council meeting next week.

Cheers,

Dean

Dean J. Saitta Professor, Department of Anthropology President, Faculty Senate University of Denver Sturm Hall 146-S 2000 East Asbury Street Denver, CO 80208 Phone: 303-871-2680 Fax: 303-871-2437 Web: http://portfolio.du.edu/dsaitta