UNIVERSITY OF DENVER Undergraduate Student Government Senate 2014-2015

Resolution #2 – Fossil Fuel Divestment Author: Junior Class Senator Sacco

Whereas, The University of Denver's Undergraduate Student Government has supported sustainable efforts from prior student organizations,

Whereas, The University of Denver's vision is to be a "Private University Dedicated to the Public good,"

Whereas, Divest DU was created to encourage The University of Denver to better reflect a University that is dedicated to sustainability and therefore the public good,

Whereas, The University of Denver strives to be a pioneer in every sense of the word, attempting to trail blaze both academically, within its community, and professionally,

Whereas, Divest as a national movement is on university and college campuses nationwide in order to spark action on behalf of these educational institutions in jumpstarting a movement to divest in fossil fuels,

Whereas, eighteen colleges have already divested in fossil fuels, acting as positive examples for the University of Denver while leaving space for us to be among the leaders in a social movement,

Be it Resolved, The University of Denver's Undergraduate Student Government, as DU's Undergraduate representative body; endorse Divest DU's efforts in convincing the Board Of Trustee's Investment Committee to commit to divesting in Fossil Fuels in the future.

Signatories: (Signed Unanimously)

USG President Hayden Johnson **USG Vice President Natalie Casev** President Pro Tempore Uriel Berrum Chair of DUPD Richard Maez Secretary of Communications Sasha Goldblatt Secretary of Recreation Cody Hansen Secretary of Intercollegiate Athletics Allison Proehl Secretary of Greek Affairs Maddie Hayes Secretary of Inclusive Excellene Jacqueline Juarez Secretary of Traditions Kaley Rickert Secretary of Internationalization Ziyang Qiu University Technology Services Liason Spencer Cunningham Secretary of Community Partnerships Adam Hammerman First Year Senator Eli Friedland First Year Senator Tyler Linnebur Sophomore Senator Emma Decker Sophomore Senator VanMichael Moore Junior Senator Nick Schwartz **Junior Senator Lindsay Sacco** Senior Senator Sophic Abual-Saud Senior Senator Jack Jenson **AHUM Senator Uriel Berrum Daniels Senator Aish Narang** Daniels Senator Sam Garry **FKSHM Sentor Max Gleicher IKSIS Senator Holly Gordon** NSME Senator Dillon Lynch Performing Arts Senator Sonora Dolce **RSECS Senator Daniel Kim** SOS Senator Alex Hess On-Campus Senator Alejandro Garcia **On Campus Senator Joe Bellafiore Off Campus Senator Mark McCarthy Off Campus Senator Tiffany Wilk**